Review | Mikill Pane – The Morris Dancer EP


Funny, clever, and just genuinely brilliant.

If you ask a ‘normal’ human on the street, ‘Do you like Mikill Pane?’, they’ll probably say ‘Sure!’. ‘Ok, now name something of this that isn’t Ed Sheeran related?’ And, unfortunately a fair few will give silence in return.

For an artist that’s been releasing quality music for a while now, why doesn’t everyone know about him! This isn’t supposed to portray Mikill in a bad light, by the way. It’s just portraying everyone who hasn’t listened further into Mikill’s collection, in a bad light.

I’m not saying I’ve followed right from the start, and I’m not going to begin a ‘I listened to him before anyone else’ type of rant, because frankly, I don’t want to sound like a fan-boy. And to be fair, I’ve only began properly listening to him straight after the ‘Little Lady‘ release.

But that’s what amazing collaboration tracks, like that one, will do. If you haven’t really heard much about the other artist, you should go and listen to everything you’re able to.

And, when you do listen to Mikill’s music, you can fully see that ‘Little Lady‘ was no fluke. ‘Summer In The City‘, and my favourite, ‘Read My Lips‘ (brilliant video below) are two songs which can show up so many ‘big’ artists out there right now, who are effectively stealing your 79p spent on iTunes. His last ‘The Guinness & Blackcurrant EP‘, is still available on iTunes, so right after reading this, I suggest you buy the last one while you wait for the release of this EP. I would say order, but don’t really enjoy sounding like a North Korean dictator.

Anyway, ‘The Morris Dancer – EP‘. I could just have the review say ‘It’s just fucking brilliant’. But, yeah, that’s not really a review. So, I’ll explain why it’s so ‘fucking brilliant’.

The opening track – possibly the most important on any release. It allows you to convey the style of the upcoming music that you’re about to witness, so if it’s rubbish, it’s highly likely that the rest of the music is too. So you’ll stop listening.

If anyone stops listening to the EP after hearing the opening track, well, humanity is hopeless. ‘Kings‘ – I don’t know what it is, but it sounds like something – unfortunately I can’t remember what. Either that, or it just sounds so memorable that it’s an instantly loveable track! I’m hoping it’s the second option. Otherwise I’m going to be trying to think what that track it reminds me of, and probably failing.

Second up, is ‘I Like You‘ – which is available for a listen below. And if that doesn’t get you interested, again, humanity is fairly hopeless.

It’s showcases, in my view, Mikill at his best. It’s just one hell of a track – obviously including Mikill’s typically humorous side. Thing is, with humor in music, it very rarely works – as I find it just distracts you. But, it’s just different with Mikill. He can say things which could be said in a conversation, which just happen to be hilarious, but he’s able to put them into his music, and makes it sound completely natural. I think what makes it work, is that it’s that mix of clever and funny – similarly like Example’s full-on rap days actually.

It achieved it’s first radio play, on 1xtra on the 17th – in which CJ Beatz also interviewed Mikill (which you can hear below)

Third on the EP, is ‘Cut Back‘ – which again can been seen as ‘typical’ Mikill Pane. But, the use of ‘typical’ is in a good way. ‘Typical’ can be construed as ‘boring’ or ‘samey’. In this case, it shows consistency. A word which so many artists cannot gain. (Well, Black Eyed Peas can. Consistently shit.)

The last two tracks happen to be my favourites. ‘Sounds Of The Night‘ (Original + a Will Power Remix). The original begins with a slightly distorted chorus, and develops into the sort of lyrics we’ve come to expect from Mikill. It’s also brilliant produced – a great beat behind Mikill’s delivery.

The Will Power remix is incredible. The two have worked together before, eg. on Mikill’sYou Don’t Know Me‘ – which was great in itself. So to see a Will Power remix on the track-listing really got me excited. Doesn’t disappoint.

Overall, I’d say ‘The Morris Dancer EP‘ is a full refreshing sound, from one of the most exciting British artists around. This EP will, no doubt, further the acclaim Mikill Pane has already earned. But maybe this time, he’ll get the acclaim from his own music.

Mikill’s full debut album, ‘Blame Miss Barclay‘ is expected this year – cannot wait to hear this!

The Morris Dancer EP‘ comes out 13th Feb. However, if you head over to THIS LINK you’re able to stream each track from the superb EP. So, I’d advise you do that. But make sure you bloody buy it too.

As a sidenote: I know I always seem to go on about how brilliant a bit of music is… But I do mean it fully. If I don’t like something, I’ll say it. But, there are no faults on this EP – I guarantee you.

One thought on “Review | Mikill Pane – The Morris Dancer EP

  1. Pingback: Mikill Pane ft. Yoshee – Kings (Official Video) « will ackrill: music

Leave a Reply

