Michael Kiwanuka: “The more people who hear your music, the more people you discover don’t like it.”


Speaking to the Guardian, the BBC Sound Of 2012 winner, Michael Kiwanuka has spoken about the added pressure, and ‘expectations’ that come along with the acclaimed win.

“Loads of things excite me about it,” Michael says, “I’m not gonna lie and say I don’t care, because I’ve always wanted to be a musician and recognition for your art is definitely something you take to heart.”

However, he added, “but it may well come with baggage. Expectations. The fact that the more people who hear your music, the more people you discover don’t like it.”

To be frank, he’w write. Some people say it’s almost better to not win, just come in the top 5 or so – that way there will be a lot less expectation and pressure put onto your shoulders.

About his own, destinctive sound, Michael said, “I can’t sing any other way. At first I hated it, I didn’t want to sound like that. You have your heroes and you want to sound like them. In my little head I thought: I don’t sound like Marvin Gaye, so it’s crap.” Adding, “eventually you accept who you are. That it’s better to sound like you. That that’s actually cool.”

Not only a great, unique artist, but also, from the sounds of it, a very level-headed guy.

His debut album, ‘Home Agian’, is out March 23rd.

Leave a Reply

