BRITS Nominations and Predictions.


Right, every year I get a bit keen over the BRIT Awards, and this year I actually have a platform to do so. Below is a run down of all the nominations, with my precicted winner, and the one I would personally choose to win…

British Male Solo Artist

Ed Sheeran
James Blake
James Morrison
Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds
Professor Green

My Prediction: Ed Sheeran | My Winner: Ed Sheeran

British Female Solo Artist

Adele
Florence & the Machine
Jessie J
Kate Bush
Laura Marling

My Prediction: Adele | My Winner: Adele

British Breakthrough Act

Anna Calvi
Ed Sheeran
Emeli Sandé
Jessie J
The Vaccines

My Prediction: Jessie J | My Winner: Ed Sheeran

British Group

Arctic Monkeys
Chase & Status
Coldplay
Elbow
Kasabian

My Prediction: Coldplay | My Winner: Chase & Status

British Single

Adele – Someone Like You
Ed Sheeran – The A Team
Example – Changed The Way You Kissed Me
Jessie J ft Bob – Price Tag
JLS ft Dev – She Makes Me Wanna
Military Wives/Gareth Malone – Wherever You Are
Olly Murs ft Rizzle Kicks – Heart Skips A Beat
One Direction – What Makes You Beautiful
Pixie Lott – All About Tonight
The Wanted – Glad You Came

My Prediction: Adele – Someone Like You | My Winner: Example – Changed The Way You Kiss Me

Mastercard British Album of the Year

Adele – 21
Coldplay – Mylo Xyloto
Ed Sheeran – +
Florence & The Machine – Ceremonials
PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

My Prediction: Adele – 21 | My Winner: Ed Sheeran – +

International Male Solo Artist

Aloe Blacc
Bon Iver
Bruno Mars
David Guetta
Ryan Adams

My Prediction: Bruno Mars | My Winner: Bon Iver

International Female Solo Artist

Beyoncé
Bjork
Feist
Lady Gaga
Rihanna

My Prediction: Rihanna | My Winner: Beyoncé

International Group

Fleet Foxes
Foo Fighters
Jay Z/ Kanye West
Lady Antebellum
Maroon 5

My Prediction: Maroon 5 | My Winner: Jay Z/ Kanye West

International Breakthrough Act

Aloe Blacc
Bon Iver
Foster The People
Lana Del Rey
Nicki Minaj

My Prediction: Lana Del Ray | My Winner: Bon Iver


(ALREADY DECIDED)
Outstanding Contribution to Music

WINNER:
Blur

Critics Choice

1st – Emeli Sandé
2nd – Maverick Sabre
3rd – Michael Kiwanuka

 

Slight Complaints:

  • How Wretch 32 wasn’t nominated once, is incredible!
  • Professor Green should have had ‘Read All About It‘ nominated in Best Single
  • Example should have been in British Male Solo Artist
  • There’s probably a few more, but can’t think of them…

Well, I’m imagining I’ll be ‘live tweeting’ during the show – I doubt somehow I’ll be announced as a special writer and get to go backstage and all that, so I’ll be in bed watching. The show is live on ITV on 21st February, and will feature live performances from Ed Sheeran, Adele, Coldplay and Rihanna (plus others obviously) – and to top it all of, it’s hosted by the simply amazing, James Corden!

One thought on “BRITS Nominations and Predictions.

  1. Pingback: Wretch 32 says Brit Nomination “wasn’t meant to be” « will ackrill: music

Leave a Reply

